Do Something Every Day: Hope

#2 in my Do Something (Creative) Every Day project. Again, I’m squeaking it out before bed. I need to start making time for this or I’ll burn out quickly.

This metaphor was brewing in my head all afternoon after I read Bono’s Top Ten list (an op-ed piece in the NY Times). The phrase that struck me, “…a little bit of hope — not the wispy stuff, but the battle-hardened hope, forged in the grim, purposeful spirit of the times.”

I know that’s real hope, but rarely do I really consider hope like this. I see the wispy stuff all the time in my own life. The hope that’s not much more than wishes. Do I have a battle-hardened hope, refined by the difficulties of life?

~ by mitchbolton on January 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

