Do Something Every Day

What do showers, vacuuming and my daily commute have in common? They are where I do a lot of my thinking. Muscle memory takes over, and my brain starts processing stuff.

This morning, it was the shower. It’s the start of a new year and I had just read Smashing Magazine’s challenging article about designing something every day of the year. I’ve been questioning my reasons for doing the #iphonepicoftheday and debating on whether or not I will continue in the new year.

If you haven’t been following it, the #iphonepicoftheday is an art project I was inspired to do by my friend Joe Cavazos. He was doing his own iPhone Pic Project, and I thought it sounded like a great way to practice creativity outside of my job. Photography was always a weak area for me, so it sounded like a good way to stretch myself.

Currently, I’m feeling more obligation than fulfillment with it, but every now and then, it can be fun to watch a photo transform. I’ve also discovered Autodesk’s Sketchbook Mobile for the iPhone, and it’s re-ignited my love of drawing. Add to that the Smashing Mag challenge, and I’m totally confused about what I want to do.

The Article.
The gist of the challenge from Smashing Magazine to designers is to design something every day for the entire year. It doesn’t need to be complicated, or even complete; just practice your skills, so you can be better. 15-20 minutes of design every day is all it takes.

iPhoneography, drawing and design are all appealing to me, but with work, being a dad and being a husband; I just can’t do it all (I can barely find time to blog), and picking one is just too hard.

My Challenge.
This morning it hit me: I can do it all! I can just do something creative every day.

My personal challenge will be to do one of the three things (iPhone photography, drawing or design) every day this year. All this will be done outside of the context of my job (though I may utilize work time on occasion).

The photography portion will still fall along the same “rules” I gave myself (adopted from Joe, actually) for the previous photo project. Photos are taken with the iPhone 3GS (since it’s the camera I always have with me). Any processing of the photos will be handled inside the iPhone.

The drawing portion of the project is probably the part that excites me the most. Drawing is my natural artistic expression. It’s what brought me to the arts in the first place. Sadly, it’s been years since I’ve taken the time to just draw. I’m allowing myself to utilize my Wacom tablet to draw on the computer (hoping it will improve my skills with it), to use Sketchbook Mobile on my iPhone, and a standard sketchbook.

The design part of this challenge is probably the most flexible, but also the least creative for me. After designing all day, the last thing I want to do is come home to design more. However, sometimes the inspiration requires communication, and that can only be achieved through design.

That’s it. My challenge for 2010. Design, draw or photograph every day. I invite you to participate in this with me. I will post my work in my Flickr photostream and here on my blog. I will also tweet the links to this project (I’ll use Smashing Mag’s #daily365 hashtag as well).

Are you taking a challenge like this? Tell me about it.

~ by mitchbolton on January 1, 2010.

6 Responses to “Do Something Every Day”

  1. […] in my Do Something (Creative) Every Day project. Again, I’m squeaking it out before bed. I need to start making time for this or […]

  2. […] in my Do Something (Creative) Every Day, and never really improved. A lot of distraction and split […]

  3. […] in my Do Something (Creative) Every Day (or daily365) project. I think I’ll start re-titling these posts as daily365 starting […]

  4. […] in my daily365. did some doodling with my 2 year old on his chalkboard. We were working on reading his name and […]

  5. […] in the daily365. A little hero that came to mind this morning. Once again, I sketched him in Photoshop, traced in […]

  6. […] in the daily365 series was inspired by the song Special Cases by Massive Attack. Visuals started running through my head […]

Leave a Reply

 
