Cheese With My Whine

Working at a church has some perks. One of which is what we call the “desert day”. This is a paid day off to spend with God. I took mine this week since the new baby is eminent, and I’m on the verge of a pre-baby meltdown.

I’m thankful for a lot of things. I tell God that when we pray at my son’s bedtime. Every day I shoot one up that’s “thanks for being so awesome, God.” But when I get these days where he and I can just sit (or walk) and talk, I let loose with all the stuff that’s bugging me. Why God? Why? How? Help!

How awesome would it be if I had a friend like that. I help him out, and support and encourage him. Every day he sends me an email or an IM that says “thanks for being awesome, Mitch.” I won’t lie, that would make me feel pretty good. I like being told I’m awesome. Then we’d sit down and talk when he had time, which is every few months, and talk. But he’d start in on how hard his life is.

“There’s this new baby coming; I don’t know what I’m going to do. My job sucks because they cancelled this message series after I spent all this time on a graphic. What do I do since I disagree with my leadership? Did I mention that a baby’s coming?”

Yeah. Totally not awesome. I’d sit there and shut him out. There he goes again. Whining about how bad life is. What a jerk. His wife is awesome and he has the cutest kid on the planet. His job takes care of him, but that’s not enough.

That “friend” is me, and that’s pretty much how my conversation with God started this morning. I realized how much that must grieve God, and how awful these conversations must be for him. That was enough to shift my thinking, and I started telling God how awesome I thought my life was. I went through what I was thankful for and why. Here’s the quick list:

  • My son, Jack (not named after Bauer) is the most awesome kid ever. I love being his dad. His laugh is ridiculously contagious. Bedtime is my favorite part of the day. And when I look into his eyes and see that life; there just aren’t words.
     
  • My wife, Leigh, is my reason for living. How I haven’t gotten sick of her after 6 1/2 years, I’ll never know. I love the sillyness and laughter we share. There is never a dull moment. I love that she needs me, and needs me to be there. She’s a good sport about being called “high maintenance” even when she isn’t.
     
  • Southeast is very good to me. I respect and love my leaders, even when I disagree with them. I can see that they are just some guys doing their best to do what God has called them to. They don’t know everything, and don’t pretend to. Their experience has earned them the right to stick with their opinions. They make mistakes and they know it, but they do their best.
~ by mitchbolton on February 6, 2009.

2 Responses to “Cheese With My Whine”

  1. Hey I like this article! (I’d just tell people he was named for Jack Bauer.) I’m doing a bible study on Grace right now.. and we talked about Christian Whiners and how that’s not very productive. I know a bunch of folks @ Southeast!

  2. I stumbled onto your blog. I am a SECC member and help out in the Children’s ministry. This is great stuff. Thanks for your openness in sharing your thoughts. And by the way, I LOVE your graphics work. Having managed some graphics designers for a University in a past life (where there was little opportunity for creativity), I really appreciate your creativity. The Cookies were my fav by far, but have also liked the different bridge graphics.

Leave a Reply

 
