I’m a Distracted Designer

distracted designer

I am an artist. I create beauty because God has gifted me this way. I can’t help it. Even if I weren’t being paid to design, I would need to create beauty and art anyway. I almost failed Algebra 2 in high school because I spent my time drawing; it’s just my nature. Regardless of where I’m employed, I must make beauty.

All the beauty that I create should inspire worship to the one true God. That was a great eye-opener for me. The purpose of all that I create is to direct worship to God. Never is my focus to be myself, but always God.

My personal mission would be to create art, always, that inspires the worship of God.

I confess. I have become distracted in my mission.

In my heart, I have been chasing my own fame. I want people to see me as an awesome designer. I want to be a trendsetter. I believe the Church should be producing the best art, and I want to be a part of it.

I’m not here to make my name famous. I am here to make God’s name famous. All I do needs to direct attention to him. While I move back into my mission, I will ask myself these questions:

  • How will God be viewed through what I create?
  • How will this bring his name fame?
  • Does this cause people to worship him?
  • Why am I doing this; for my name or God’s?
~ by mitchbolton on January 11, 2009.

One Response to “I’m a Distracted Designer”

  1. Man.. this was a slap upside the head. 🙂 Great stuff Mitch… I’m right there with you.

Leave a Reply

 
